All Our Wrong Todays: A Novel - Used
← Back to

 

All Our Wrong Todays: A Novel - Used

Regular price $11.65 Sale price $10.99
Unit price  per 

Author: Mastai, Elan

Edition: Canadian First

Format: Deckle Edge

Number Of Pages: 384

Release Date: 07-02-2017

Details: Product Description There's no such thing as the life you're "supposed" to have. You know the future that people in the 1950s imagined we'd have? Well, it happened. In Tom Barren's 2016, humanity thrives in a techno-utopian paradise of flying cars, moving sidewalks and moon bases, where avocados never go bad and punk rock never existed . . . because it wasn't necessary.      Except Tom just can't seem to find his place in this dazzling, idealistic world, and that's before his life gets turned upside down. Utterly blindsided by an accident of fate, Tom makes a rash decision that drastically changes not only his own life but the very fabric of the universe itself. In a time-travel mishap, Tom finds himself stranded in our 2016, what we think of as the real world. For Tom, our normal reality seems like a dystopian wasteland.      But when he discovers wonderfully unexpected versions of his family, his career and--maybe, just maybe--his soulmate, Tom has a decision to make. Does he fix the flow of history, bringing his utopian universe back into existence, or does he try to forge a new life in our messy, unpredictable reality? Tom's search for the answer takes him across countries, continents and timelines in a quest to figure out, finally, who he really is and what his future--our future--is supposed to be.      All Our Wrong Todays is about the versions of ourselves that we shed and grow into over time. It is a story of friendship and family, of unexpected journeys and alternate paths, and of love in its multitude of forms. Filled with humor and heart, and saturated with insight and intelligence and a mind-bending talent for invention, this novel signals the arrival of a major talent. Review National BestsellerA Wall Street Journal Best BookAn Indie Next PickNominated for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Award "A novel about time travel has no right to be this engaging. A novel this engaging has no right to be this smart. And a novel this smart has no right to be this funny. Or insightful. Or immersive. Basically, this novel has no right to exist." —Jonathan Tropper, New York Times bestselling author of This Is Where I Leave You "A thrilling tale of time travel and alternate timelines with a refreshingly optimistic view of humanity's future." —Andy Weir, New York Times bestselling author of The Martian"Everything about Mastai's debut novel is clever, starting with the premise. . . . He deploys his rom-com chops with zippy dialogue and deftly drawn characters, but also manages to keep a bewildering number of narrative balls in the air. . . . Its braininess is balanced by moments of glittering wisdom. . . . [Mastai is] an ambitious and committed talent." — Maclean's"At its core, All Our Wrong Todays is a profound character study, utterly singular in both approach and execution. . . . Fans of The F-Word, Mastai's award-winning 2013 romantic comedy starring Daniel Radcliffe . . . will recognize Mastai's knack for self-reflection and charming riff on romance, ugly and basic and human as it can be." — National Post" All Our Wrong Todays is an incredibly creative work. It's as if Mastai time travelled and took copious notes of what a future utopian world would be. The science is as engaging as the romance. Mastai has mastered the art of endearing himself to an audience through both knowledge and entertainment. It's definitely out of this world—or an alternate universe." —Associated Press "Amazing. . . . Dazzling and complex. . . . [ All Our Wrong Todays is] fearlessly funny storytelling." — Washington Post "Wildly entertaining. . . . A genre-hopping, laugh-out-loud sci-fi love story,  All Our Wrong Todays at its heart is a deceptively profound exploration of what makes a good life and why our species seems hell-bent on self-annihilation. Clever and entertaining, it explores the small differences that divide what we are from what we could be and what we want to be." — Toronto Star "Instantly engaging. . . . [ All Our Wrong Todays i

EAN: 9780385686846

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: UsedLikeNew