As You Wish

  • Sale
  • $25.99
  • Regular price $26.55


Author: Sedoti, Chelsea

Brand: Sourcebooks Fire

Edition: Second Printing

Format: Picture Book

Number Of Pages: 432

Release Date: 02-01-2018

Details: Product Description From bestselling author Chelsea Sedoti comes a thought-provoking contemporary young adult book about a small desert town filled with Mojave magic where everyone gets to make a wish on their eighteenth birthday. If you could make one wish that was guaranteed to come true-what would you wish for? Rules for Wishing: Never let an outsider find out about wishing. (Zip your lips and throw away the key.) Wishes that would impact the world are off limits (i.e. no bringing back the dinosaurs). Do no harm. (Murder = no bueno.) No time travel. (What's done is done, pal.) No bringing back the dead. (Come on. You've seen what happens in THE WALKING DEAD.) NEVER BREAK THE RULES. (Seriously. We mean it. See Rule #7.) There are always consequences. Most of Eldon's classmates have had their wishes picked out for months, even years. Not Eldon. He's seen how wishing has hurt the people around him. His parents' marriage is strained, his sister is a virtual ghost in their house, his ex-girlfriend is dating his ex-friend...where does he even begin? One thing is for sure: Eldon has only twenty-six days to figure it out-and the rest of his life to live with the consequences. Perfect for: Readers who like magical realism YA Fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and The Sun is Also a Star Educators and parents who want to start conversations about consequences People looking for young adult books best sellers Also by Chelsea Sedoti: It Came from the SkyThe Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett Praise for As You Wish: "Heartbreaking, other times hilarious, but always thought-provoking. An unexpectedly affecting book that will have readers pondering what they would wish for if given the chance."-Booklist "Poignant... Will inspire readers to explore the question: if you could have one wish, what would it be?"-Kirkus "An engrossing read, fantastical and believable at the same time."-Horn Book Magazine "Depending on the reader, this novel offers different levels of intensity, starting with the everyday sort of teen troubles, progressing to difficult family dynamics, and reaching up to the ethical dilemmas wishing can create-all while being easy to read and hard to put down."-VOYA Review "Poignant... Will inspire readers to explore the question: if you could have one wish, what would it be" - Kirkus Reviews "Heartbreaking, other times hilarious, but always thought-provoking. An unexpectedly affecting book that will have readers pondering what they would wish for if given the chance." - Booklist "The book provides an interesting and original premise that will open up some great discussion about what students might wish for and what the ramifications of those wishes might be." - School Library Connection "The plot itself transcends Eldon's quest for a wish and becomes a study of human nature. This is a good story that includes a bit of romance, sports, friendship, family issues, and coming of age. A thoroughly engaging choice for readers of realistic fiction and magical realism." - School Library Journal "An engrossing read, fantastical and believable at the same time." - Horn Book Magazine "Depending on the reader, this novel offers different levels of intensity, starting with the everyday sort of teen troubles, progressing to difficult family dynamics, and reaching up to the ethical dilemmas wishing can create-all while being easy to read and hard to put down." - VOYA Magazine, Perfect Ten "The countdown structure creates a natural hook, and Sedoti (The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett) makes good use of her what-if premise to give readers much to consider. She successfully captures the feelings of uncertainty that come with nascent adulthood, the desire to leave home, and waiting for one's life to begin." - Publishers Weekly "Chelsea Sedoti (The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett) masterfully crafts a tale that draws together the stories of an entire town's residents while focusing on Eldon and his friends. Through Eldon's wrench

UPC: 760789261893

EAN: 9781492642312

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New