I Hate Everyone But You: A Novel

  • Sale
  • $10.99
  • Regular price $11.30


Author: Dunn, Gaby

Number Of Pages: 352

Release Date: 05-09-2017

Details: Product Description INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!A POPSUGAR "Best Young Adult Book of 2017" PickAn Autumn 2017 Indie Next Pick!Named by Bustle as one of the "16 Books The Internet Is Going To Be Obsessed With This Year"A Barnes & Noble Pick for “Most Anticipated LGBTQIAP YA Books of the Second Half of 2017” "Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin have captured everything about the pain and excitement of that first terrifying, fabulous, confusing year on your own in college… In this epistolary novel, you live day by day with Ava and Gen, deep inside that friendship, so deep, it feels like it’s your own." ―Francine Pascal, bestselling author of the Sweet Valley High series Perfect for fans of “Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl” (School Library Journal, Starred Review), Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin’s I Hate Everyone But You is a hilarious and heartfelt debut novel about new beginnings, love and heartbreak, and ultimately the power of friendship. Dear Best Friend,I can already tell that I will hate everyone but you.Sincerely, Ava Helmer(that brunette who won’t leave you alone) We're still in the same room, you weirdo.Stop crying.GSo begins a series of texts and emails sent between two best friends, Ava and Gen, as they head off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two of them document every wild and awkward moment to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance? From School Library Journal Gr 10 Up—This contemporary coming-of-age story of two friends on opposite shores explores difficult topics in a relatable tone. Ava and Gen are best friends whose relationship defines the maxim that opposites attract. Ava, the perfectionist, joins a sorority because she thinks that's what college students should do. She struggles with balancing her social life, anxiety, and class load. Gen is studying journalism and places herself in the thick of things by writing a controversial article as soon as she joins the school paper. She is queer and proud of it, but finds that her relationship with one of her teachers complicates matters. Narrated via texts and emails between the two main characters, this book will appeal to a wide range of teens. Ava and Gen wrestle with mental health issues, relationships, alcohol and drug use, and other typical aspects of college life. The text's light, conversational style allows readers to explore tough topics without getting bogged down. The character focus in this story takes the place of a compelling plot; however, fans of the authors' YouTube channels will find themselves turning pages quickly. Give to fans of Robin Talley's What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl. VERDICT A first purchase for all libraries serving older teens.—Jenni Frencham, Columbus Public Library, WI Review An Autumn 2017 Indie Next Pick!Named by Bustle as one of the "16 Books The Internet Is Going To Be Obsessed With This Year"A POPSUGAR "Best Young Adult Book of 2017" Pick"Give to fans of Robin Talley’s What We Left Behind or Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. VERDICT A first purchase for all libraries serving older teens." -School Library Journal (Starred Review) "A fast-moving celebration of a friendship transformed by distance, change, and burgeoning maturity, but still stubbornly strong." -Publishers Weekly "Fans will be delighted." -Kirkus Reviews"Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin have captured everything about the pain and excitement of that first terrifying, fabulous, confusing year on your own in college. Hard enough, but try doing it separated from your dearest friend in the world. In this epistolary novel, you live day by day with Ava and Gen, deep inside that friendship, so deep, it feels like it’s your own." -Francine Pascal, bestselling author of the Sweet Valley High series About the Author AL

EAN: 9781250129321

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New