Lailah (The Styclar Saga)

  • Sale
  • $22.99
  • Regular price $24.17


Author: Kelly, Nikki

Number Of Pages: 416

Release Date: 07-10-2014

Details: Product Description The girl knows she's different. She doesn't age. She has no family. She has visions of a past life, but no clear clues as to what she is, or where she comes from. But there is a face in her dreams – a light that breaks through the darkness. She knows his name is Gabriel. On her way home from work, the girl encounters an injured stranger whose name is Jonah. Soon, she will understand that Jonah belongs to a generation of Vampires that serve darker forces. Jonah and the few like him are fighting with help from an unlikely ally, a rogue Angel named Gabriel. In the crossfire between good and evil, love and hate, and life and death, the girl learns her name: Lailah. But when the lines between black and white begin to blur, where in the spectrum will she find her place? And with whom? Gabriel and Jonah both want to protect her. But Lailah will have to fight her own battle to find out who she truly is. From School Library Journal Gr 8 Up—Just when we thought the vampire fad was overplayed and finally vanquished, Kelly slams readers with an exciting new world—three worlds, to be exact: vampires vs. humans vs. angels. The brave, heart-stealing heroine is named Lailah—or is it Francesca? She's lived for over two centuries at the supreme age of 17 and cannot recall past lives upon her return to the human dimension. Immortality is not without suffering, but becomes more anguished than one seemingly human girl can handle when her memories begin to trickle in. Kelly opens her debut fantasy thriller with an aside explaining how Lailah (an Angel-Vampire hybrid) was created, and readers journey with her to piece together the past, flee across continents to escape the Pureblood Vampires targeting Lailah, and watch patiently as she discovers her latent powers. The genuine characters are dynamic and charming regardless of where their loyalties lie. The archetypal love triangle is a messy game of tug-of-war between Gabriel, Lailah, and Jonah, driving the story and superimposing on the desperate war between realms, making this equal parts romance and supernatural adventure. Vivid and cleverly crafted, this novel will appeal to fans of Julie Kagawa's The Immortal Rules (Harlequin Teen, 2012) and Courtney Allison Moulton's "Angelfire" series (HarperCollins), who will celebrate this new heroine of extraordinary strength.—Jamie-Lee Schombs, Loyola School, New York City Review “Just when we thought the vampire fad was overplayed and finally vanquished, Kelly slams readers with an exciting new world . . . Vivid and cleverly crafted, this novel will appeal to fans of Julie Kagawa's The Immortal Rules and Courtney Allison Moulton's "Angelfire" series, who will celebrate this new heroine of extraordinary strength.” ― School Library Journal About the Author Nikki Kelly is a Wattpad sensation. Lailah garnered over one million reads within six months of being released on the website. She lives in the UK with her two dogs.

EAN: 9781250051516

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New