Layover - Used
← Back to

 

Layover - Used

Regular price $13.56 Sale price $12.99
Unit price  per 

Author: Andelson, Amy

Brand: Crown Books for Young Readers

Color: Multicolor

Number Of Pages: 272

Release Date: 06-02-2018

Details: Product Description Fans of Julie Buxbaum's Tell Me Three Things and Morgan Matson's Since You've Been Gone will get caught up in the drama of this road trip romance that begins with an unplanned flight layover in L.A. and turns into a wild adventure.FLYNN: At first we were almost strangers. But ever since I moved to New York, Amos was the one person I could count on. And together we were there for Poppy. (I mean, what kind of parents leave their kid to be raised by a nanny?) I just didn't expect to fall for him--and I never expected him to leave us. AMOS: I thought I was the only one who felt it. I told myself it was because we were spending so much time together--taking care of Poppy and all. But that night, I could tell she felt it, too. And I freaked out--you're not supposed to fall for your stepsister. So I ran away to boarding school. I should have told her why I was leaving, but every time I tried, it felt like a lie. One missed flight was about to change their lives forever. . . . Perfect for fans of Clueless and brought to you by two Hollywood screenwriters, this wild journey of unlikely romance, heartbreak, and adventure--set against the backdrop of a blended family in free fall during a rebellious layover in Los Angeles–reveals the true value of the unbreakable bonds we forge when we dare to let ourselves risk it all. "A thoughtful, charming journey into the nature of love and family." –Rachel Cohn, New York Times bestselling coauthor of Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist "This road-trip saga from Hollywood screenwriters Andelson and Meyer is being hailed as a must-read for fans of 'Clueless.'" –Brightly From School Library Journal Gr 8 Up—Flynn is trying to play it cool when her stepbrother, Amos, returns home from boarding school for the holiday break. Amos left her in the dust when he abruptly changed schools and she is not sure how to act around him anymore, especially after their last night together. Now, Amos, Flynn, and their nine-year-old half sister, Poppy, are leaving on a holiday vacation when Poppy breaks the big news: their parents are going to announce their divorce. Fed up, Flynn proposes ditching the big family vacation and exploring Los Angeles. Cue the wild and frothy background music, because it's the runaway adventure of a lifetime—a very privileged one. Flynn and Amos both have wealthy parents, and it is reflected in their attitudes about school, the future, and their current escape. Their wealth insulates them in a way that not all teens will relate to. Amos and Flynn have a complex relationship. They share an attraction that neither of them is ready to talk about, and it is slightly awkward throughout. Chapters are short and do not leave much opportunity to explore and get to know these characters. Their connection to each other seems more surface level than deep and meaningful. VERDICT Collections looking to add pure escapism to their shelves will find this an adequate title. It is not a standout debut.—Sarah Wethern, Douglas County Library, Alexandria, MN Review "A love letter to Los Angeles, dysfuntional families, and forbidden romance." –Kiwi Smith, screenwriter of Legally Blonde and 10 Things I Hate About You "A unique family portrait of divorce, as seen through the eyes of a blended trio of siblings." –Jen Malone, author of Wanderlost and Changes in Latitudes"A soaring whirlwind adventure of getting lost and getting found." –Darcy Woods, award-winning author of Summer of Supernovas "The YA Book for All Ages." — Town & Country "Readers interested in the siblings’ tony, Gossip Girl–esque antics will find something to enjoy." — Booklist "Andelson and Meyer look at the complexities of blended families and the relationships that can develop." — PW"[Andelson and Meyer] know the perils of a prep school alcohol and hook-up culture, and the vulnerability of girls needing to belong, whether they are teens or preteens." — VOYA"Pure escapism." — SLJ About the Author Amy Andel

EAN: 9781524764876

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: UsedLikeNew