Marge in Charge (Marge in Charge, 1)

  • Sale
  • $20.99
  • Regular price $21.68


Author: Fisher, Isla

Brand: Harpercollins

Edition: Illustrated

Number Of Pages: 176

Release Date: 03-10-2017

Details: Product Description Actress and comedian Isla Fisher’s hilarious debut introduces Marge, your kids’ favorite new zany babysitter—perfect for fans of Amelia Bedelia and Mrs. Piggle Wiggle. Features charming illustrations! Siblings Jemima and Jake Button don’t know what to make of their new babysitter, Marge: She’s not tall enough to ride a rollercoaster and, when she first arrives, she’s dressed like a grandma and looks very serious. But as soon as Mommy and Dad are gone, mischievous Marge lets down her rainbow hair and the adventures begin. Jemima and Jake aren’t supposed to shoot apple juice out of water guns, eat pancakes off the ceiling, or throw impromptu concerts during music class—but with Marge here, everything’s gone topsy-turvy! Can they have this much fun and still finish everything on Mommy’s list before their parents come home to discover what’s been going on? In these three madcap stories, it’s obvious that everything’s way more fun when Marge is in charge. From School Library Journal Gr 2–4—Marge is a small elderly woman with long rainbow hair and a colorful personality to match—she is often mistaken by children to be a youngster herself. When she is hired to care for Jemima and Jake Button, she proves that babysitters can be fun. The book is broken into three comedic episodes in which the kids break Mommy's rules while managing to accomplish some impossible feats, such as getting Jake to wash his hair and eat his broccoli. Marge claims to be a duchess related to the king of England and impresses the children with her stories. Young readers will enjoy following the escapades of Marge and her charges as they eat chocolate soup for dinner, watch Marge conduct an orchestra in the playground, and save a birthday party in the park, and will appreciate Marge's philosophy: "Why follow the rules when you can invent your own?" The abundant black-and-white line drawings add to the fun. VERDICT The short, funny adventures will appeal to new readers. This also works well as a read-aloud and is a great segue into the classic tales of another mischievous nanny, Mary Poppins.—Annette Herbert, F. E. Smith Elementary School, Cortland, NY Review “The short, funny adventures will appeal to new readers. This also works well as a read-aloud and is a great segue into the classic tales of another mischievous nanny, Mary Poppins.” -- School Library Journal About the Author Isla Fisher has worked in TV and film for twenty-five years, including roles in The Great Gatsby, I Heart Huckabees, Wedding Crashers, Rise of the Guardians, Scooby Doo, Definitely Maybe, and Confessions of a Shopaholic. She has also co-starred in Arrested Development and lent her voice to the Oscar-winning animated film Rango. Most recently, she can be seen starring in Keeping Up with the Joneses and Nocturnal Animals. She has won an MTV Movie Award, an Elle Women in Hollywood Icon Award, and an AACTA Trailblazer Award, and she was recognized by the Alliance of Women Film Journalists and has received nominations ranging from the Teen Choice Awards to the Screen Actors Guild Awards. She has played many fun and different characters, but her favorite role is being a mom to her three children with her husband, fellow comedian Sacha Baron Cohen. Isla has been making up stories at bedtime for them every night since they were born, which is how Marge in Charge began.

EAN: 9780062662187

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New