Miss Mayhem: A Rebel Belle Novel - Used
Miss Mayhem: A Rebel Belle Novel - Used
Miss Mayhem: A Rebel Belle Novel - Used
← Back to

 

Miss Mayhem: A Rebel Belle Novel - Used

Regular price $11.46 Sale price $10.99
Unit price  per 

Author: Hawkins, Rachel

Brand: Speak

Color: Multicolor

Edition: Reprint

Number Of Pages: 304

Release Date: 01-03-2016

Details: Product Description New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect for fans of Buffy and Veronica Mars. Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and best friend Bee has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can return her focus to the important things in life: school, canoodling with David, her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie, and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant. Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him.  The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an an ancient trial that will either kill her . . .  or make her more powerful than ever. "Everything you could want from the genre and more: heart, smarts, scares, swoons and best of all, LAUGHS." —Kirkus Reviews "Harper's signature wit punctuates the action, balancing snappy satire of the Pine Grove community and its beauty pageant with the edgy suspense of the Ephors' everlooming next attack."--Booklist Review Praise for Rebel Belle  * “Harper is as quippy as you please, with a sass born of a sharp intellect…as surprising as it is delicious.”— BCCB, starred review "Plenty of merriment, even for Yankees."— Kirkus Reviews “Fun with a twist of supernatural and Southern charm.”— VOYA “The romance, coming-of-age aspects, and a well-drawn heroine with a crackling wit will lure in readers.”— Booklist “Hawkins strikes a pleasing balance between humor and drama, giving the ‘chosen one’ narrative a welcome dusting of irony and a glowing Southern setting.”— Publishers Weekly About the Author Rachel Hawkins is the author of  Rebel Belle and the  New York Times bestselling series Hex Hall. Born in Virginia and raised in Alabama, Rachel taught high school English for three years before becoming a full-time writer. Follow her on twitter @LadyHawkins. Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved. Chapter 1 “THIS IS going to be a total disaster. You know that, right?” There are times when having a boyfriend who can tell the future is great. And then there are times like this. Rolling my eyes, I flipped down the visor to check my makeup in the little mirror. “Is that your Oracle self talking, or your concerned boyfie self?” David laughed at that, twisting in the driver’s seat to look at me. His sandy blond hair was its usual wreck, his blue eyes bright behind his glasses. “Seriously, you have got to stop calling me that.” The visor smacked back into place with a snap as I smiled at him. “But you are an Oracle,” I said with mock innocence, and now it was his turn to roll his eyes. “You know which term I was objecting to.” The windows in David’s car were down, letting in the breeze as well as the faint smell of beer and the pounding bass coming from inside the Sigma Kappa Nu fraternity house across the street. It was getting late, and there were a million places I would rather have been, but I had a job to do tonight. Still, I could mix a little business with pleasure. Leaning over the seat, I tipped my face up so he could kiss me. “It’ll only take a sec,” I promised once we parted. “And besides, this is what we’re supposed to be doing.” David’s lips were a thin line, and there was a little wrinkle between his brows. “If you’re sure,” he said, and I paused, hand on the latch. “What do you mean?” David pushed his glasses up the bridge of his nose. “This whole changing-the-future thing. Sometimes I wonder . . . like, what if you can’t change the future, Pres? What if you’re only delaying it a little while?” My hand fell away from the door as I thought about that, but before I could answer, a loud bang from the front of the car had us both jumping. Two dark-haired guys in polo shirts and pastel shorts chortled as they walked past, their face

EAN: 9780147517920

Languages: English

Binding: Paperback

Item Condition: UsedLikeNew