Solving for M

  • Sale
  • $10.99
  • Regular price $11.17


Author: Swender, Jennifer

Brand: Crown Books for Young Readers

Color: Multicolor

Edition: Illustrated

Format: Illustrated

Number Of Pages: 256

Release Date: 28-05-2019

Details: Product Description Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish, this heartfelt middle-grade novel seamlessly melds STEAM content with first loss in an honest and striking debut. When Mika starts fifth grade at the middle school, her neat life gets messy. Separated from old friends and starting new classes, Mika is far from her comfort zone. And math class is the most confusing of all, especially when her teacher Mr. Vann assigns math journals. Art in math? Who's ever heard of such a thing? But when challenges arise at home, Mika realizes there are no easy answers. Maybe, with some help from friends, family, and one unique teacher, a math journal can help her work out problems, and not just the math ones. Debut author Jennifer Swender delivers poignant prose and illustrator Jennifer Naalchigar brings Mika's journal to life in this perfect equation of honesty plus hope that adds up to a heartwarming coming-of-age story. From School Library Journal Gr 4-7-Math has applications and relevance to real life, as this book shows through the experiences of the artistic-minded and sensitive fifth-grader Mika, who fills the math journal she's been assigned by her kooky math teacher with illustrations relating to her feelings around her divorced mother's ongoing skin cancer treatment. These illustrations alternate with chapters written in Mika's vulnerable and sincere first-person voice. Most scenes occur either in math class or at home, each centered around basic pre-algebraic concepts: order of operations, estimation, variables, sets, etc. Mika's growth is slow and steady as she makes new friends, acclimates to a new normal, and learns to tell her mother she still needs her. Mika, her family, and all characters but one are white, living in upper-middle class upstate New York. ­VERDICT What some may see as a transparent attempt to foist math review on unsuspecting middle grade readers, others will enjoy as a sad yet sweet character-driven novel not unlike those of Lisa Graff or Julie Sternberg, with a focus on having a parent with cancer.-Rhona Campbell, Georgetown Day School, Washington, DC?(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. About the Author Jennifer Swender was a classroom teacher for many years before turning to writing full-time. Her debut middle grade novel  Solving for M is winner of the 2020 Mathical Book Prize, as well as a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection and finalist for the Land of Enchantment Book Award, the Georgia Children’s Book Award and the William Allen White Children’s Book Award. Together with Paul DuBois Jacobs, she is also the author of many picture books and early chapter books. When she’s not writing, Jennifer develops curriculum materials for students and teachers. She lives with her family in Massachusetts.   Jennifer Naalchigar has been dreaming and doodling in her diaries from a young age--just like Mika. Unlike Mika, Jennifer showed limited promise in math, but she has thoroughly enjoyed exploring Mika's personality and reflecting her thoughts, fears, and dreams through her diary entries. After working in publishing for several years, Jennifer turned her attention to illustrating full-time. She lives in Hertfordshire, England, with her husband and daughter. Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.   Fifth grade at the middle school should make perfect sense. Elementary school is first grade, second grade, third, and fourth. (Okay, I know I’m leaving out kindergarten, but stick with me for a second.) Then middle school is fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth. High school—ninth, tenth, eleventh, and twelfth.   Twelve grades divided by three schools gives you four grades per school, with middle school smack dab in the . . . well, middle. Everything nice and logical.   But now, on the first day, I’m not so sure.   First of all, we have to keep a journal .

EAN: 9781101932902

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New