Stalking Ground (A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery) - Used
← Back to

 

Stalking Ground (A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery) - Used

Regular price $11.55 Sale price $10.99
Unit price  per 

Author: Mizushima, Margaret

Brand: Crooked Lane Books

Color: White

Number Of Pages: 320

Release Date: 13-09-2016

Details: Product Description A murder investigation takes Mattie Cobb and her canine partner into the Colorado mountains, where the brutal winter landscape conceals an even more brutal killer When Deputy Ken Brody's sweetheart goes missing in the mountains outside Timber Creek, Mattie Cobb and Robo are called to search. But it's mid-October and a dark snow storm is brewing over the high country—and they're already too late. By the time they find her body, the storm has broken and the snow is coming down hard. While Brody hikes down to bring back the forensics team and veterinarian Cole Walker gathers supplies to protect them from the storm, Mattie and Robo find themselves alone, guarding the gravesite overnight in the dead of the early winter. And that's only the first long, dark night in a series of them, because as their investigation develops, Mattie, Robo, Brody, and Cole find themselves in the middle of the killer's stalking ground—with no way out unless they can catch a predator more deadly than any natural threat. Filled with tension, excitement, and heart, this new installment in Mizushima's much lauded series will send a chill down every reader's spine. Review Praise for Stalking Ground: “Realistic characters and believable plot twists distinguish Mizushima’s brisk sequel to 2015’s Killing Trail...Robo proves his mettle as a well-trained detective and a brave hero in this incisive look at small-town police work.” — Publishers Weekly "The second adventure in Mizushima’s fine series...[is] a taut page-turner on multiple levels. A perfect read-alike for Robert Crais’ series starring LAPD officer Scott James and his K-9 partner, Maggie." — Booklist "Mizushima’s sophomore outing proves that her acclaimed series debut, Killing Trail, was no fluke...dog loves will want to read this thriller." — Library Journal "The story is one that will keep you reading...[I] would recommend it as a very good mystery." — Night Owl Reviews, 4 1/2 star review, Top Pick "The family complications of Adrienne Howard, Mattie, and Cole are as different as they could be, yet the novel succeeds in threading together the relationships into one cohesive theme...Mattie and Robo’s teamwork ensure a satisfying read, while Robo’s intimidating work ethic delivers a suspenseful and thrilling conclusion." — King’s River Life "Mizushima’s tale is woven well with believable characters and a compelling plotline." — Noir Journal "In her second absorbing K-9 mystery, Margaret Mizushima delivers tight storytelling and gripping suspense in a fully realized rural Colorado world populated by emotionally burdened sheriff’s detective Mattie Cobb and her indomitable working canine, Robo." —Scott Graham, National Outdoor Book Award-winning author of Yellowstone Standoff Praise for Killing Trail: Nominated for RT Book Review’s Reviewer’s Choice Award for Best First Mystery "Debut author Mizushima’s classic police procedural adds a fresh angle involving the work of K-9s. The appealing Robo knows what he’s doing, he just needs to train Mattie to trust him. Sue Henry fans will love." — Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month "The interactions between Mattie and Robo will tug the heartstrings of every dog lover...Mizushima’s debut reflects both her skill as a suspense writer and her respect for animals. The shocking conclusion will stay with readers while they wait for the next story in the series. Pair this with Robert Crais’ Suspect (2013)" — Booklist starred review "Winning heroine...strong debut...a realistic view of how a K-9 team works, treating Robo as an important character, but never stooping to anthropomorphism. And it’s impossible not to fall in love with Robo." — Publishers Weekly starred review "Mizushima does an excellent job of developing [Mattie and Robo] as characters, allowing readers to feel a personal connection to them both. Overall a great debut for an up-and-coming mystery writer." — RT Book Reviews, Top Pick “A terrific debut w

EAN: 9781629538334

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: UsedLikeNew