Swarm (2) (Zeroes)

  • Sale
  • $22.99
  • Regular price $24.17

Author: Westerfeld, Scott

Brand: Simon Pulse

Edition: Reprint

Number Of Pages: 480

Release Date: 13-02-2018

Details: Product Description X-Men meets Marissa Meyer’s Renegades when New York Times bestselling author of the Uglies series Scott Westerfeld teams up with award-winning authors Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti in the second book of an explosive new trilogy about six teens with unique abilities. They thought they’d already faced their toughest fight. But there’s no relaxing for the reunited Zeroes. These six teens with unique abilities have taken on bank robbers, drug dealers, and mobsters. Now they’re trying to lay low so they can get their new illegal nightclub off the ground. But the quiet doesn’t last long when two strangers come to town, bringing with them a whole different kind of crowd-based chaos. And hot on their tails is a crowd-power even more dangerous and sinister. Up against these new enemies, every Zero is under threat. Mob is crippled by the killing-crowd buzz—is she really evil at her core? Flicker is forced to watch the worst things a crowd can do. Crash’s conscience—and her heart—get a workout. Anon and Scam must both put family loyalties on the line for the sake of survival. And Bellwether’s glorious-leader mojo deserts him. Who’s left to lead the Zeroes into battle against a new, murderous army? About the Author Scott Westerfeld is the author of the Leviathan series, the first book of which was the winner of the 2010 Locus Award for Best Young Adult Fiction. His other novels include the  New York Times bestseller  Afterworlds, the worldwide bestselling Uglies series,  The Last Days,  Peeps,  So Yesterday, and the Midnighters trilogy. Visit him at ScottWesterfeld.com or follow him on Twitter at @ScottWesterfeld. Margo Lanagan has been publishing stories for children, young adults and adult readers for twenty-five years. She has won numerous awards, including four World Fantasy Awards. Two of her books have been Michael L. Printz Honor books and she has been shortlisted for the Hugo and Nebula awards and for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize in the young adult division. Visit Margo at her blog, AmongAmidWhile.Blogspot.com, or follow her on Twitter at @MargoLanagan. Deborah Biancotti has written two short story collections,  Bad Power and  A Book of Endings. She’s been nominated for the Shirley Jackson Award and the William L. Crawford Award for Best First Fantasy Book. You can find her online at DeborahBiancotti.com or on Twitter at @Deborah_B. Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved. Swarm CHAPTER 1 SCAM “YOU LOOK GREAT IN THOSE jeans!” Ethan said. He handed the guy a flyer. The guy did not look great in those jeans. It was abundantly clear he’d gone commando just to fit into them. His legs would probably never bend again. But Ethan didn’t care. He was in a good mood, and the whole world was going to benefit. He moved on, scanning the crowd. It was the last Saturday night before Christmas, and Ivy Street was buzzing. The clubs were about to open and everyone was ready to dance. “Hey,” Ethan said to a young woman in a purple feather boa. “Don’t feel bad. Your boss is a total idiot.” She took the flyer. “How’d you . . .” Ethan shrugged. How indeed. “And, girl, purple is your color!” he enthused. She beamed at him. He was practically singing tonight. Of course, it wasn’t Ethan talking. It was his other voice. The one that always knew how to get Ethan what he wanted. And tonight all he wanted was for everyone to feel as happy as he did. So the voice was telling them whatever they needed to hear. He moved on, feeling the happy. Letting the happy light him up from inside. It was almost weird feeling this good, but for once his life was turning around. With the Summer of Suck in his rearview mirror, Ethan was free and clear. No more worrying about bank robbers and drug-dealing mobsters. No more being grounded by his mom. Even the other Zeroes were laying off their usual Scam bashing, treating him like part of the team. And then there was Kelsie. After the kidnapping

EAN: 9781481443401

Languages: English

Binding: Paperback

Item Condition: UsedLikeNew