The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy)
The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy)
← Back to

 

The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy)

Regular price $11.99
Unit price  per 

Author: Grove, S. E.

Edition: First Printing

Format: Deckle Edge

Number Of Pages: 528

Release Date: 14-07-2015

Details: Product Description The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman! It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since their return home to Boston, she has continued searching for clues to her parents’ disappearance, combing archives and libraries, grasping at even the most slender leads. Theo has apprenticed himself to an explorer in order to follow those leads across the country—but one after another proves to be a dead end.             Then Sophia discovers that a crucial piece of the puzzle exists in a foreign Age. At the same time, Theo discovers that his old life outside the law threatens to destroy the new one he has built with Sophia and her uncle Shadrack. What he and Sophia do not know is that their separate discoveries are intertwined, and that one remarkable person is part of both.             There is a city that holds all of the answers—but it cannot be found on any map. Surrounded by plague, it can only be reached by a journey through darkness and chaos, which is at the same time the plague’s cure: The Golden Specific. From School Library Journal Gr 6 Up—It's a year after The Glass Sentence (Viking, 2014) and 14-year-old Sophia is not willing to put off looking for her parents any longer. A mysterious letter and a series of tantalizing clues have led her to believe what she seeks will be found across the sea in the Papal States. Journeying through the time-shattered landscapes from one Age to another brings new allies, but also new dangers—for the legendary city that Sophia must find lies at the heart of one of the darkest and malevolent Ages of all. Meanwhile, back in 1892 Boston, Sophia's Uncle Shadrack and her best friend, Theo, must fight their own battles against unscrupulous political figures and old enemies who threaten the very stability of their own Age. This delicious blend of magic, history, and science will continue to delight fans of intricate world-building and rich storytelling. There's plenty to keep readers turning pages, though the shifting perspective from chapter to chapter between three different sets of events tends to make it challenging to keep track of the particular narratives and the immediate suspense and tension sometimes suffer as a result. Similar to the first book, the level of violence and complexity of the narrative make this sequel an appropriate read for more mature tween and teen readers. This title will have most direct appeal for those who have read the first installment. VERDICT This dark teen/tween historical fantasy is a good fit for fans of Stefan Bachmann's The Peculiar (HarperCollins, 2012) and Jonathan Stroud's "Lockwood & Co." series (Disney-Hyperion).—Stephanie Whelan, New York Public Library Review RAVES FOR THE GLASS SENTENCE A New York Times Bestseller An IndieBound National Bestseller A Summer/Fall 2014 Indies Introduce New Voices Selection A Top Ten Kid’s Next Selection A Publishers Weekly Flying Start A Washington Post Summer Book Club Selection A Junior Library Guild Selection One of Publishers Weekly’s Best Summer Reads An Amazon Summer 2014 Reading Selection An Amazon Top 20 Children’s/YA Book of 2014 An ABC Best Book of 2014 * “Brilliant in concept, breathtaking in scale and stellar in its worldbuilding; this is a world never before seen in fiction . . . Wholly original and marvelous beyond compare.”— Kirkus Reviews, starred review * “A thrilling, time-bending debut . . . It’s a cracking adventure, and Grove bolsters the action with commentary on xenophobia and government for hire, as well as a fascinating system of map magic.”— Publishers Weekly, starred review *“Stellar . . richly layered and emotionally engaging from the first page through to the intriguing cliffhanger end.”— BCCB, starred review * "A mind-blowing debut . . . The bookmaking behi

EAN: 9780670785032

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New