The Mathematician's Shiva: A Novel

  • Sale
  • $26.99
  • Regular price $28.19


Author: Rojstaczer, Stuart

Brand: Penguin Books

Color: Black

Edition: First Edition

Number Of Pages: 366

Release Date: 02-09-2014

Details: Product Description WINNER OF THE 2014 NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING DEBUT FICTION For readers of This Is Where I Leave You and Everything Is Illuminated, "a brilliant and compelling family saga full of warmth, pathos, history and humor" (Jonathan Evison, author of West of Here) When the greatest female mathematician in history passes away, her son, Alexander "Sasha" Karnokovitch, just wants to mourn his mother in peace. But rumor has it the notoriously eccentric Polish émigré has solved one of the most difficult problems in all of mathematics, and has spitefully taken the solution to her grave. As a ragtag group of mathematicians from around the world descends upon Rachela's shiva, determined to find the proof or solve it for themselves--even if it means prying up the floorboards for notes or desperately scrutinizing the mutterings of her African Grey parrot--Sasha must come to terms with his mother's outsized influence on his life. Spanning decades and continents, from a crowded living room in Madison, Wisconsin, to the windswept beach on the Barents Sea where a young Rachela had her first mathematical breakthrough, The Mathematician's Shiva is an unexpectedly moving and uproariously funny novel that captures humanity's drive not just to survive, but to achieve the impossible. Review “The Mathematician’s Shiva is a delight….[Rojstaczer] delivers a smart, funny debut novel about family dynamics, the immigrant experience and the elegance of mathematics.”–San Jose Mercury-News "You can never really complain about a book being too alive, too curious, too alert, too true to itself….The novel works for the same reason the humor does: It is smart and brutally honest." –New York Times Book Review“The Mathematician’s Shiva is for everyone….Optimistic and funny.” –Boston Herald “A poignant and at times funny novel that is a celebration of human endurance and the life of the mind….Finding out whether Rachela did solve the Navier-Stokes…is one of the many gifts a reader will find while ‘sitting shiva’ with these fine characters.”–Durham Herald-Sun “A wryly funny coming-of-middle-age story…[and] a fresh look at family, genius, and the Jewish Eastern European immigrant experience.”–The Bellingham Herald “Poignant and hilarious….A gripping, ground-breaking, intelligent novel, sure to become a book club favorite…and to be recommended by librarians and booksellers for years to come.”–The Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle “[A] wryly funny first novel about middle-age, family, genius and the Jewish Eastern European immigrant experience after World War II.”–The Wisconsin Gazette “[Rojstaczer] obviously knows a thing or two about the insular world of academia, as well as the challenges and heartbreaks of growing up in an immigrant Jewish family. The result is an engaging novel that resonates emotionally while providing a math lesson or two along the way.–Jewish News "A hugely entertaining debut….[A] multilayered story of family, genius, and loss." –Publishers Weekly “An enjoyable debut…distinguished by a fluid, lyrical style.”–Kirkus “There are rock stars; then there are math stars. Apparently, both have their groupies, and this debut novel may win Rojstaczer a few….[His] tale maintains a satisfying balance between humor and warmth.”–Booklist “[Rojstaczer] has created a complex and chaotic rainbow of characters that makes his first novel both comedic and compelling.”–Library Journal “A funny, warm book, written by a geophysicist with a loving, detailed eye towards the beauty of math and the incorrigibility of people.”–7x7.com, “3 Books On Our Must-Read List This Week” “Highly recommended.”–San Diego Jewish Journal “Stuart Rojstaczer writes with enormous wit, style and empathy, and The Mathematician's Shiva is a big-hearted, rollickingly funny novel that's impossible to put down. A tremendous debut.”–Molly Antopol, author of The UnAmericans “I love The Mathematician’s Shiva. Who else will love it? Anyone who knows the manic

EAN: 9780143126317

Languages: English

Binding: Paperback

Item Condition: New