The Museum of Heartbreak

  • Sale
  • $14.99
  • Regular price $15.59


Author: Leder, Meg

Brand: Simon Pulse

Number Of Pages: 288

Release Date: 07-06-2016

Details: Product Description “A charming, tender, and hilarious debut you will want to get lost in.” —Gayle Forman, bestselling author of If I Stay and I Was Here In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up. Welcome to the Museum of Heartbreak. Well, actually, to Penelope Marx’s personal museum. The one she creates after coming face to face with the devastating, lonely-making butt-kicking phenomenon known as heartbreak. Heartbreak comes in all forms: There’s Keats, the charmingly handsome new guy who couldn’t be more perfect for her. There’s possibly the worst person in the world, Cherisse, whose mission in life is to make Penelope miserable. There’s Penelope’s increasingly distant best friend Audrey. And then there’s Penelope’s other best friend, the equal-parts-infuriating-and-yet-somehow-amazing Eph, who has been all kinds of confusing lately. But sometimes the biggest heartbreak of all is learning to let go of that wondrous time before you ever knew things could be broken… From School Library Journal Gr 9 Up—When it comes to finding her true love, Penelope Marx knows it will happen just like in a book. And when Pen meets Keats, a suave, literary cool guy, her book-loving heart is sure she's found the real thing. This is huge, since she has only two friends, Audrey and Eph. While they are her whole world, they exist beyond her. Audrey's other best friend is rude to Pen, and Eph is always dating a different beautiful girl. Pen and Audrey have an argument, and Pen throws herself into a relationship with Keats. But her conscience knows that he is not perfect, or even perfect for her. Making new friends at the literary magazine helps the protagonist expand her narrow circle. This is a sweet look at first love and the lessons we learn from it. New York City provides the perfect backdrop for the narrative: making out in the stacks at the Strand, having a fight on the subway platform. While heavy foreshadowing (heartbreak is in the title) will all but tell what will eventually happen, the journey is the point. The large cast of characters are varied, and each figure is easily discernible from the others. VERDICT Not required reading, but absolutely an enjoyable ride for fans of NYC and first love.—Kelly Jo Lasher, Middle Township High School, Cape May Court House, NJ Review "The lucky readers of THE MUSEUM OF HEARTBREAK also get to fall in love - with this charming, fun, and buoyant book. Meg Leder's writing sparkles." -- Deb Caletti "Intertwining the twin ecstasies (and agonies) of falling in love and coming of age, The Museum of Heartbreak is a charming, tender and hilarious debut you will want to get lost in." -- Gayle Forman, bestselling author of IF I STAY and I WAS HERE "An enjoyable ride for fans of NYC and first love.”  -- School Library Journal "Will resonate with girl readers feeling the heartbreak of broken friendships.” -- VOYA Magazine “Fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, and Maureen Johnson will flock to this.”  -- Booklist About the Author A former bookseller and teacher, Meg Leder currently works as a book editor in New York City. Her role models are Harriet the Spy and Anne Shirley. She is the author of  Letting Go of Gravity,  The Museum of Heartbreak, the coauthor of  The Happy Book, and spends her free time reading, looking for street art, and people watching. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. You can visit her website at MegLeder.com or find her on Twitter @MegLeder. Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved. The Museum of Heartbreak Watchmen, book Watchmen, liber Copyright 1987 New York, New York Cat. No. 201X-1 On loan from Ephraim O’Connor ON THE FIRST DAY OF my junior year, in the first two minutes of open assembly, the most handsome boy I had ever seen in all my sixteen never-been-kissed years sat down and raised an ey

EAN: 9781481432108

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: UsedVeryGood