The Rains: A Novel (The Rains Brothers, 1)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $12.99


Author: Hurwitz, Gregg

Brand: Tor Teen

Features:

  • Tor Books

Number Of Pages: 352

Release Date: 18-10-2016

Details: Product Description Winner of the ITW Thriller Award for Best YA Novel“A brilliant, terrifying, rule-breaking reimagining of the zombie novel.”―Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin“One of those all-too-creepy-and-believable stories. Chilling!”―Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author“Readers with a 5th Wave-shaped hole in their sf-loving hearts will rejoice.”―Booklist “In his first book for teens, Hurwitz crafts a tense, disturbing tale that’s simultaneously a story driven by brother love and the determination to survive against impossible odds.”―Publishers WeeklyFrom the New York Times bestselling author of Orphan X and comics in the Batman, Wolverine, and Punisher universes comes this relentlessly thrilling adventure perfect for fans of The Walking Dead and The 5th Wave. A Hollywood screenwriter, developer, and producer (V, The Book of Henry, Black Flags), Gregg Hurwitz brings his cinematic flair to this suspenseful new tale.In one terrifying night, the peaceful community of Creek's Cause turns into a war zone. No one under the age of eighteen is safe. Chance Rain and his older brother, Patrick, have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school where other young survivors are hiding.Most of the kids they know have been dragged away by once-trusted adults who are now ferocious, inhuman beings. The parasite that transformed them takes hold after people turn eighteen--and Patrick's birthday is only a few days away.Determined to save Patrick's life and the lives of the remaining kids, the brothers embark on a mission to uncover the truth about the parasites--and what they find is horrifying. Battling an enemy not of this earth, Chance and Patrick become humanity's only hope for salvation. From School Library Journal Gr 7 Up—Following on the popularity of apocalyptic zombie fiction, this is an edge-of-your-seat test of survival. Set in an anywhere town, the narrative moves along at a breakneck pace. Creek's Cause is a peaceful community filled with farms and hardworking people. Chance Rain is a 15-year-old who feels that he will never measure up to his brother, Patrick. Star quarterback and homecoming king Patrick is the envy of the other young men around him. Living a normal life on the farm, the brothers are content with tilling fields, delivering calves, hunting, and driving tractors. In one horrifying night, Creek's Cause becomes a war zone when everyone under the age of 18 quickly realizes that they are no longer safe. Chance and Patrick have already fended off multiple attacks from infected adults by the time they arrive at the school, where other survivors are hiding. The parasite that transformed the adults into ferocious, inhuman beings affects teens the minute they turn 18. Unfortunately for Patrick, his birthday is a few weeks away. The siblings are determined to save Patrick and the remaining kids, so they set out on a seemingly impossible mission to find out the truth. This title is one of the better YA zombie-esque novels that has been written in the last few years. It is refreshing and surprising and won't leave teens feeling as though they've traveled this path before. VERDICT Recommended for all YA collections, especially where Jonathan Maberry's "Rot & Ruin" series is popular.—Amy Caldera, Dripping Springs Middle School, TX Review “A brilliant, terrifying, rule-breaking reimagining of the zombie novel. Hurwitz pulls no punches and takes no prisoners.”―Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin“Gregg Hurwitz is a writer’s writer, fast on his feet, quick with the perfect turn of phrase. The Rains is one of those all-too-creepy-and-believable stories that leaves you looking in your backyard for the next strange weed to poke through the ground. Chilling!”―Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author“The Rains is a fearsome exploration of survival that turns the horrors of the natural world in

EAN: 9780765382672

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New