The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues: A Novel

  • Sale
  • $8.99
  • Regular price $9.17


Author: Moore, Edward Kelsey

Brand: Henry Holt and Co.

Number Of Pages: 320

Release Date: 20-06-2017

Details: Product Description “Moore, besides being laugh out loud hilarious, has a profound understanding of human nature . . . A truly remarkable writer. This book is a joy to read.” ―Fannie Flagg, author of The Whole Town’s Talking and Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe“The arrival of [Moore’s] new novel had me singing anything but the blues.”―Julia Glass, National Book Award-winning author of A House Among the Trees and Three JunesFrom the author of the bestselling The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat, The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues, an exuberant and poignant new novel of passions, family, and forgivenessWhen a late life love affair blooms between Mr. Forrest Payne, the owner of the Pink Slipper Gentleman’s Club, and Miss Beatrice Jordan, famous for stationing herself at the edge of the club’s parking lot and yelling warnings of eternal damnation at the departing patrons, their wedding summons a legend to town. Mr. El Walker, the great guitar bluesman, comes home to give a command performance in Plainview, Indiana, a place he’d sworn―and for good reason―he’d never set foot in again.But El is not the only Plainview native with a hurdle to overcome. A wildly philandering husband struggles at last to prove his faithfulness to the wife he’s always loved. And among those in this tightly knit community who show up every Sunday after church for lunch at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat, are the lifelong friends, known locally as “The Supremes” ―Clarice, facing down her longing for, chance at and fear of a great career; Barbara Jean, grappling at last with the loss of a mother whose life humiliated both of them, and Odette, reaching toward her husband through an anger of his that she does not understand. Edward Kelsey Moore’s lively cast of characters, each of whom have surmounted serious trouble and come into love, need not learn how to survive but how, fully, to live. And they do, every one of them, serenaded by the bittersweet and unforgettable blues song El Walker plays, born of his own great loss and love. Review “An uplifting read that tugs at readers’ heartstrings and elicits enthusiastic chuckles in equal measure. Moore masterfully balances sorrow and humor, scandal and earnestness, to create a soul-nourishing narrative that entertains and captures life’s richness . . . This sparkling sequel will satisfy fans while welcoming new ones to the fold with open arms.” ―BookPage“As fun and exuberant as that gorgeous cover art.”―Chicago Review of Books“Moore's story encompasses both happiness and heartache, but the end result is warm and satisfying, like the cherry pie at Earl's diner. This is a heartwarming story of friendship, reckoning with the past and learning to forgive.”―Shelf Awareness“Moore returns to Plainview, Ind., to tell further delightful tales of the Supremes . . . weaving [plot threads] together beautifully, with humor balancing out the more painful moments. His characters, both living and dead, come together to make a wonderful whole.”―Publishers Weekly (starred review)“This lusty novel sings with life, saluting friendships through dreams, marriage and long-held secrets.”―Minneapolis Star Tribune, “Summer Books”“[A] charming story of friendship . . . Moore quickly makes even new readers feel at home.”―St. Louis Post-Dispatch“Moore’s bluesy, breezy novel takes readers through life’s highs and lows and in-between times when no one knows what is coming next; its air of folksy optimism should appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Fredrik Backman.”―Library Journal (starred review)“A first-rate sequel. . . . [The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues] is a musically-informed, bright, spirited foray into late-in-life love affairs amid all human foibles. . . . Few novels in these turbulent times can make us laugh and cry at the same time. The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues does just that. It’s a life-vivifying celebration.”―Neworld Review“Comfort-food . . . full of Moore’s . . . affection fo

EAN: 9781250107947

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New