We Speak in Storms

  • Sale
  • $22.99
  • Regular price $24.17


Author: Lund, Natalie

Brand: Philomel Books

Color: Teal/Turquoise green

Edition: First Edition Hardcover

Number Of Pages: 464

Release Date: 03-09-2019

Details: Product Description A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars. It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens' paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward--if only they work together. A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself. Praise for We Speak in Storms : "A hauntingly atmospheric coming-of-age story . . . with fully realized characters, an empowering message, and a highly satisfying conclusion." -- SLJ "A lingering, quietly paced story about the echoes of trauma and the persistence of hope." -- Booklist "This suspenseful novel . . . immediately grabs the reader's attention . . . [Readers] will be eager to find out what happens next." -- SLC Review Praise for We Speak in Storms: "A hauntingly atmospheric coming-of-age story . . . with fully realized characters, an empowering message, and a highly satisfying conclusion." -- SLJ "A lingering, quietly paced story about the echoes of trauma and the persistence of hope." -- Booklist "This suspenseful novel . . . immediately grabs the reader’s attention . . . [Readers] will be eager to find out what happens next." -- SLC About the Author Natalie Lund (natalielund.com) is a former middle and high school teacher. A graduate of Purdue University's MFA program, she taught introductory composition and creative writing there, and also served as the fiction editor of The Sycamore Review. Natalie is also the author of We Speak in Storms. She lives in Chicago with her husband. You can follow her on Twitter @nmlund. Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved. On October 7, 1961, some of us snuck from our houses, climbing onto roofs, dropping into bushes. Some of us called to our parents: We’ll be at the movies. See you later. We ignored the sharp wind, the chill that ran along the collars of our letterman jackets and the tops of our ankle socks. We loaded the pickup beds with quilts and pillows and packs of beer stolen from our fathers’ basements. Or we piled into cars with our sweethearts, unable to keep our hands still, our skin from buzzing. We drove into the country and parked our Catalinas, Coupes, VWs, and LeSabres in neat lines, mirror to mirror, facing the two-story whitewashed wall. We checked our watches, ordered pop from the waitresses, and made final trips to the outhouse, a few of us glancing warily up at the clouds. The projectionist started  Breakfast at Tiffany’s, wobbly at first, the image gritty, and then, finally, everything was steady. Above us: our stars. We climbed into the back seats to neck our sweethearts, happy in the shadows. Or we sprawled with our friends in the truck beds like sleeping puppies, backs on knees, shoulder blades on stomachs, legs on legs. The movie’s light playing out on our faces, in our eyes. The wind grew stronger, and those of us outside pulled the blankets up to our chins and scooted closer to one another. The rain was next, pelting the cars’ steel roofs. We squeezed into truck cabs, sitting on one another’s laps, or we continued to fog rolled-up windows, kissing furiously—as though we knew time was almost up. The movie stopped. A bullhorn announced something, the voic

EAN: 9780525518006

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New