Winter Glass (Spindle Fire)

  • Sale
  • $10.99
  • Regular price $11.55


Author: Hillyer, Lexa

Brand: Harperteen

Number Of Pages: 352

Release Date: 10-04-2018

Details: Product Description “The thoughtful portrait of these women combines with fast-paced action, mystery, and magic, and readers will be hooked.”—SLJ Fans of Kendare Blake and Marissa Meyer will rejoice as Lexa Hillyer returns to a lush fantasy world in deep peril, concluding the dark and stunning fairy tale reinvention that began with Spindle Fire. Aurora, torn from the dream world and Heath, plots to assassinate the faerie queen Malfleur, only to confront temptations she never expected. Isabelle, meanwhile, opens her heart to Prince William as they attempt to unite their kingdoms and wage a winning war against Malfleur’s army of Vultures. But when the appearance of an unbreakable glass slipper prompts Isabelle to discover more about her lineage, her true identity begins to take shape and her legacy becomes as clear as ice. Devoted half sisters Isabelle and Aurora will grapple with their understanding of love and loyalty as they face a threat even greater than that of the evil queen—the threat of losing each other forever. “Hillyer’s lyrical writing, the references to multiple fairy tales, and several slow-burn romances, one of which is same-sex, will appeal to readers. Fans of the author’s Spindle Fire will be eager to see how this duology ends.”—Booklist “This sequel continues to showcase a lush landscape and an innovative intertwinement of classic Perrault with the unconventional, with considerations of power and hierarchy present as the sisters discover the dark workings of love and family that have affected their lives and land.”—Kirkus From School Library Journal Gr 8 Up—Sisters Aurora and Isabelle continue down dangerous paths in this plot-packed sequel to Spindle Fire. Aurora, awakened from the sleeping enchantment that trapped her in Sommeil, discovers that Sommeil's residents have been pushed out of their world and into hers. Determined to save them, Aurora abdicates her throne and forms a tentative alliance with Wren to find and save the Sommeilians. Meanwhile, Isabelle takes up Aurora's mantle as Queen and thrusts herself into uniting Deluce and Aubin, galvanizing recruits to fight in the war against evil faerie Malfleur. As she learns what it means to lead her kingdom, Isbe discovers that responsibility comes with both love and pain. Aurora and Isbe represent young women forging their own destinies while experiencing the joy, confusion, and heartbreak that defines one's coming of age. Isbe loves Prince William, but love doesn't detract from the deep bond she shares with Aurora. She recognizes their relationship as one of many elements that define her, and provides a strong, compelling role model for young women looking to balance their own desires. Aurora's time with Wren quickly stokes a realization about the nature of their relationship, and what Aurora hopes it can become. The thoughtful portrait of these women combines with fast-paced action, mystery, and magic, and readers will be hooked. VERDICT This tale of romance, fantasy, and self discovery makes a worthy choice for libraries.—Kelsey Johnson-Kaiser, St. Paul Public Library Review “The thoughtful portrait of these women combines with fast-paced action, mystery, and magic, and readers will be hooked.” (School Library Journal) “This sequel continues to showcase a lush landscape and an innovative intertwinement of classic Perrault with the unconventional, with considerations of power and hierarchy present as the sisters discover the dark workings of love and family that have affected their lives and land.” ( Kirkus Reviews) “Hillyer’s lyrical writing, the references to multiple fairy tales, and several slow-burn romances, one of which is same-sex, will appeal to readers. Fans of the author’s Spindle Fire (2017) will be eager to see how this duology ends.” (ALA Booklist) About the Author Lexa Hillyer is the cofounder of Glasstown Entertainment, a former YA editor, and the author of Proof of Forever and the Spindle Fire duology. She lives in B

EAN: 9780062440907

Languages: English

Binding: Hardcover

Item Condition: New